The Jolly Phonics programme

The teaching sequence

The teaching sequence for Jolly Phonics has been divided into the following 5 basic skills sets, each of which each has its own chapter in ‘The Phonics Handbook’:

  1. Learning the letter sounds
  2. Learning letter formation
  3. Blending – for reading
  4. Identifying the sounds in words – for writing
  5. Tricky Words – irregular words

Although the teaching has been separated into these 5 basic skills, it is important to realise that they are all taught at the same time.

Learning to read and write fluently are vital skills for children. All parents know this and want their children to master these skills. The majority are keen to help, but are not sure how to go about it. It is a good idea to invite the new parents to a meeting, where it is explained how reading and writing is taught in the school. There are specific materials available from Jolly Learning to guide your parent evening and ensure its success and smooth running. Cultivating a home/school link is an important part of the programme and much can be achieved in having parents playing a pivotal role at the centre of the process of teaching children to read and write successfully.